Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
  
  
  
  
  
Planning_Improvement_Plan_text
  
  
11/5/2013 7:29 PMNo presence informationPai, EdwardStudent ServicesReview
The Admissions Office will review their planning goals every year to better assess progress and also be able to create new goals as needed.  
Ready to planning
  
3/18/2013 12:48 PMNo presence informationPartlow, Gayle MIDWG 1Review
The department has plans, but budgetary restraints halt any movement.
  
3/8/2013 10:05 AMNo presence informationWebber, Kalynda DStudent ServicesReview
No plan to increase the effectiveness of the department's planning efforts. Program planning efforts have been effective; however, extraneous factors have impacted the outcomes.
  
3/29/2013 7:07 PMNo presence informationO'Connor, Christi AAdministrative ServicesReview
Increase staff participation and look into beginning a Bookstore Committee with representatives from Students, Admin, Faculty etc.
  
5/2/2013 11:45 AMNo presence informationJain, Anil K (City)Administrative ServicesReport
We will work with the various stakeholders on campus to help in the budgeting and planning process.
  
4/2/2013 11:56 AMNo presence informationAbramian, SusanaReport
 Business Office goals/planning have discussed by the Business office staff, which can increase the effectiveness of the department's planning to make sure we, as a team, reach the goal.
  
3/10/2013 8:52 PMNo presence informationHastey, Raymond BIDWG 3Review
Since all of our programs and goals were completed, we're going to continue to use the same process as in the past. This primarily consists of the Chair and Vice Chair meeting with specific faculty members and/or disciplines to discuss planning and goal setting. Currently, we've identified four goals to achieve over next 1+ years. Those are:

1. Develop, improve and update curriculum, course SLOs, rubrics, certificates and degrees, and continue assessing courses in an effort to provide students with a quality education, and thereby building strong skill sets.

2. Promote the efficiency and cost savings of placing classroom documents and other relevant student materials online, opposed to printing and photocopying, as well as increase the number of faculty actively using the internet to provide instructional materials.

3. Solicit the assistance from the Business Administration Advisory Council to establish procedures that will lead to academic, business, and community partnerships.

4. Secure appropriate funding to provide faculty with student workers/tutors and equipment (including software) needed to perform their classroom and office duties, as well as provide computers in the computer labs for classroom student use.
  
4/3/2013 10:50 AMNo presence informationGarcia, ReynoldWorkforceReview
  
3/12/2013 10:52 AMNo presence informationGarcia-Salas, Emma CStudent ServicesReview
I propose that the Career Center be provided its own budget.  Traditionally, we have been under the General Counseling Department budget.  Given that our center has its own needs and specialized services, we feel that it is imperative that its own budget be provided to fund services and activities such as: career fairs, job shadowing/career shadowing fieldtrips, supplies, etc.
  
3/8/2013 8:41 AMNo presence informationBimber, Kathleen R.IDWG 1Review
Request appropriate FTEF to maintain the Dietetic Technician program.
Request additional printing and copying from 10100 to create flyers and mailers to increase student participation in this program
Request the addition of a second Instructional Assistant so the department does not need to rely on CTE money to have student workers maintain the two labs. One instructional assistant cannot maintain two labs effectively and this supports SLO Assessments and our Planning goals for access and success.
  
3/11/2013 3:44 PMNo presence informationVarner, Joni KIDWG 1Review
1) Review existing goals and use results of this CPR to generate new goals
-
2) Get industry feedback from CTE advisory committee as to how to best spend the resources to which we have access.
-
3) Continue to request equipment funding through CTE/Annual Unit Plans.
-
4) Adjuncts & full time faculty will annually review success in meeting goals and how to allocate funds.
  
3/28/2013 3:57 PMNo presence informationAllen, Robert HAdministrative ServicesReport
It is the intention of the department to take actions towards incompetence, attendance, and inadequacies which are are huge issues of today’s labor force in accomplishing quality service. We are currently undergoing a new type of employee as opposed to our dedicated employee when our rules and regulations were first introduced. Today's employee calls for an innovative  system to handle  everyday employee inefficiencies. By lessoning inefficiencies we increase our effectiveness in planning the departments work.
  
3/29/2013 3:36 PMNo presence informationRodgers, Corey DStudent ServicesReview
The program staff will need to meet regularly to review progress and benchmarks. The new goals will need to reflect and or incorporate the state’s new standards and implementation of student success activities.
  
3/26/2013 10:23 AMNo presence informationNelson, Alex WAdministrative ServicesReport
In order to provide a level one service, our department needs to have adequate staffing to be able to handle the numerous work requests and emergencies that arise on a daily basis.
  
5/9/2013 10:39 AMNo presence informationAllen, Robert HAdministrative ServicesReview
Action Plan (1) has been recently implemented and is on track for a complete reduction in cost of labor source which was diverted to building coverage for better building standards utilizing the latest technology. (2)To increase our labor efforts for additional square footage coverage and raise are APPA standards to sustain a high level 3 and possible 4.  To bring our campus community to a  highten state of  awarenes and it's effect on the campus as a whole.
  
3/25/2013 12:37 PMNo presence informationAnderson, Michell DStudent ServicesReview
The Financial Aid Department does a yearly survey.  It routinely collects evaluations from students that attend it workshops and in-reach/outreach events.  The department will develop a more effective way of integrating the data collected from these activities into its planning efforts.
  
3/11/2013 6:35 PMNo presence informationChatel, Eiko JIDWG 2Review
1) There are four disciplines taught by only adjunctinstructors; ASL, Armenian, Arabic, Italian and Russian. It has been difficult to closely involve them in discussion and planning during the regularly scheduled meetings. We must improve the ways to involve them more.
2) Plan to receive some Government funds through availble grants.
3) Plan to involve more communities to enrich our program. We are near the Armenian, Korean, Chinese, Japanese and Spanish Communities.
  
3/12/2013 1:34 PMNo presence informationPumphrey, Reri NStudent ServicesReview
We are encouraged that with the implementation of SB 1456 and Achieving the Dream Act, more insitutional involvement will take place in terms of developing more Personal Development classes, mandatory orientations, and student educational planning.  With the upcoming hire of two full time faculty we are confident that services will be enhanced to first year students.  The department recognizes its involvement with the development of planning.  As a result, we will work as a unit with the department chair in the spring semester to collectively cultivate goals for the next academic year.
  
4/16/2013 12:23 PMNo presence informationSaunders, Lenore EAdministrative ServicesReport
  
4/26/2013 8:07 PMNo presence informationMendoza, JuanAdministrative ServicesReport
Request additional staff to provide adequate support to the college and run the IT operation. We need a Web Architect to create a more dynamic website for the college and a Software Systems Engineer (SSE) to help with the increasing complexity of the new systems like Server and Desktop Virtualization, Blade Servers, Storage Area Networks (SANs), 10Gb/40Gb Ethernet, etc. The SSE position has traditionally been used at the District Office but the colleges now have systems as complex as the District and and sometimes even more since they don't have students or faculty to support directly.

Request additional funding to upgrade old equipment (servers & switches) in the Data Center and to upgrade computers older than 5 years old still in use by students, faculty and staff.

Request appropriate funding to provide ongoing training for the IT staff.
  
6/3/2013 3:48 PMNo presence informationBrady, ReginaldStudent ServicesReport
  
3/11/2013 11:57 AMNo presence informationVargas, Wilhelm IIDWG 2Review
All faculty members should be involved in the planning process.  This does not always occur.  The following goals should be the basis of our planning efforts.

1. Assess course SLOs on an ongoing basis.
2. Look at course curriculum critically, and determine if it can be improved.
3. Determine whether prerequisites to courses should be added, deleted, or modified.
4. Look at all degrees and certificates, and determine if they can be improved or deleted.
  
3/14/2013 2:01 PMNo presence informationDes Vignes, MaryanneIDWG 2Review
Course Fill Rate:
The department will continue its efforts in the areas of orientation, individualized testing, course placement, and enrollment criteria that have impacted the course fill rate increase over the last 5 years—(Fall, 2007:  38.3% - Fall, 2011: 72.3).  These efforts have proven successful in addressing the need for improvement in this area.  Additionally, the department will begin offering more group class instruction based on student test placement scores and student success as indicated in the data.



Evening/Weekend:
In an effort to address instructional access to all students needing basic skills remediation, the department, beginning in the Fall, 2013, will pilot a core evening curriculum namely, Learning Skills 1ABC – Reading, Learning Skills 3ABCDE Vocabulary Development, Learning Skills 6ABC – Study Skills, Learning Skills 10ABC Math Fundamentals, and Learning Skills 11ABCDE Elementary Algebra.  Given the funding demands of an individualized program, the department will offer its evening classes as group classes, and subsequently these classes will be re-coded as WSCH-producing non-TBA classes.


  
3/10/2013 4:08 PMNo presence informationVasquez, BarbaraIDWG 1Report
Librarians meet at 6-7 times per academic year to discuss the library program, its needs, policies, and assessment.  More time should be spent working on the planning efforts as related to Online Planning Module.
  
3/12/2013 7:30 PMNo presence informationPhommasaysy, SeanIDWG 3Review
Perhaps hold department meetings more often. Instead of meeting once a month, perhaps we can meet  twice a month. The difficult part  is to get most faculty to agree to these new meeting schedule and since there's very little recourse if faculty do not fulfill their basic obligations, many simply do not participate.
  
3/11/2013 8:06 AMNo presence informationWolf, Roger WIDWG 3Report
  
3/18/2013 2:40 PMNo presence informationMarlos, Daniel JIDWG 1Report
  
3/7/2013 8:38 AMNo presence informationWanner, DanIDWG 1Review
Here's the plan:
1. Assess course SLOs and develop goals
2. Assess program SLOs and develop goals
3. Use results of this CPR to generate goals
4. Review existing goals
5. Request funding to support #1-4 through the annual unit plan process
6. Faculty annually review success in meeting above goals
7. Faculty annually review how allocated funds have helped us accomplish our goals and decide if we should continue pursuit of the goal
  
3/11/2013 6:43 PMNo presence informationManchester, P BetsyIDWG 3Review
Resources must be in place to facilitate increasing effectiveness Resources include sufficient staff (office staff, faculty). Requests to hire have been submitted.
  
4/3/2013 3:56 PMNo presence informationAnderson, Randy LStudent ServicesReview
Schedule OSS Advisory Meeting for input and feedback from the community, faculty, staff, and students. Develop students with disabilities focus groups.  Initiate new OSS student club/association. Continue OSS student satisfaction survey and SLO assessment.
  
3/7/2013 12:36 PMNo presence informationTorres, JulioIDWG 2Report
To hold more meetings at the departmental level to discuss planning goals in a more collaborative fashion.
  
3/10/2013 11:35 PMNo presence informationBhakta, JayeshIDWG 3Review
The aim of the department is to continually improve the effectiveness of its programs to enable students to achieve their academic goals. Planning goals should be achievable in the short term and hence necessarily reflect immediate issues facing the department. There has been a large change in student demographics and numbers over the review period. We expect our planning goals to be very different for the next 6 years to meet the needs of a growing student population in a difficult economic climate for the college. As such, the department needs to evaluate its programs in light of these changes and embark upon efforts to innovate and create solutions which will become the basis of our new planning goals.
  
3/11/2013 4:18 PMNo presence informationSechooler, Rochelle LIDWG 2Review
The Psychology Department  is reasonably satisfied with our planning efforts.  The department meets regularly, at least twice a month, to discuss plans and mark milestones. Progress towards goals is communicated visually to all on two large white boards in the department's meeting room.  Brainstorming is used to generate annual plans, with the participation of all full-time members of the department and the adjunct representative.
  
4/3/2013 10:38 AMNo presence informationZelaya, MayraAdministrative ServicesReport
1.  Request District yearly Purchasing Workshops for new faculty and staff directly involved with the purchasing process.  This will help the Purchasing Department by expediting the submital of requests from new staff members.
2.  Enforce deadlines.  Administration should enforce deadlines to ensure all purchasing is done and invoices paid at the end of the fiscal year.
  
3/12/2013 6:29 PMNo presence informationRadtke, John GIDWG 3Review
Since all of our programs and goals were completed or are close to completed, we're going to continue to use the same process as in the past. This primarily consists of the Chair meeting with specific faculty members and/or disciplines to discuss planning and goal setting. Currently, we've identified four goals to achieve over next 2 years. Those are:

1. Develop, improve and update curriculum, course SLOs, rubrics, certificates and degrees, and continue assessing courses in an effort to provide students with a quality education, and thereby building strong skill sets. 

2. Promote the efficiency and cost savings of placing classroom documents and other relevant student materials online, opposed to printing and photocopying, as well as increase the number of faculty actively using the internet to provide instructional materials.

3. Solicit the assistance from the Radiologic Technology Advisory Council to establish procedures that will lead to academic, business, and community partnerships.

4. Secure appropriate funding to provide faculty with student workers/tutors and equipment needed to perform their classroom and office duties, as well as provide computers in the computer labs for classroom student use.
  
5/9/2013 7:31 AMNo presence informationAllen, Robert HAdministrative ServicesReview
To create a supporting source of  labor to the new and newly oncoming restructured buildings. To sustain a consistant level of the association of the higher education facilities officers; (APPA exceptance measure for building cleaning exceptence level). Methods of inspections, project reports, and attention to attendance and performance records are further implemented to reduce our maintenance cost.
  
3/13/2013 4:03 PMNo presence informationHaas, Harley T.Student ServicesReport
NA
  
2/25/2013 2:30 PMNo presence informationEckford, Wendel VIDWG 2Report
Change the contract to get faculty to participate. 
  
3/15/2013 2:21 PMNo presence informationBeaufait, Kathleen B.IDWG 1Report
Continue to request replacement of separated faculty so that the discussion, planning and development activities can become a shared, collaborative effort.

As an eventual seven member Communication Studies full-time faculty core team understand how FTES/FTEF data trends occur, better planning and decision-making will take place. The department will be able to make sound decisions on which courses to offer and when to offer them, in order for student to more efficiently move through the various programs such as the Communication Studies AA-T, IGETC, CSU Certification, certificates from other departments, etc in order to accomplish their educational goals in a timely manner.
  
3/11/2013 9:19 AMNo presence informationMorrissey, Kevin LIDWG 1Review
Every effort has been made by the department chair to synthesize the efforts of the faculty and the campus strategic master plan into cohesive academic program with constant Program and Student Learning outcomes.  The department has a rich history of student success and has for many years sone student learning outcomes work as a conservatory training program with all faculty grading sessions and student progress reports.  The formal SLO process has been an affirmation of the conservatory curriculum model and has been substantiated in the data assembled related to student achievement as satisfactory or exemplary.  

Annual unit plan proposals have been directly tied to Program goals and student learning outcomes.  The department aims to provide a vibrant production laboratory--public performances--in conjunction with robust schedule of theoretical classes in technical theatre and the performing arts.  
  
3/29/2013 3:39 PMNo presence informationRodgers, Corey DStudent ServicesReport
  
3/19/2013 12:09 PMNo presence informationVillar, Jeremy V.Student ServicesReview
The Veterans Affairs will need to consider upgrading its current staffing classified position.  Due to the increase in participants and complexity, the program will need to meet compliance with regard to appropriate level of staffing expertise. 
  
4/14/2013 2:46 PMNo presence informationDavis, A AlexEWDReport
  
6/28/2013 8:55 AMNo presence informationBriggs, Phillip TZ_Test_IDWGReport