Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Strategic Planning Committee​


Makes recommendations, as appropriate, to the Academic Senate on academic issues and College Council on institution-wide strategic goal and priority setting and accountability for student success.  This committee is charged with creating and monitoring the college’s mission and Educational and Strategic Master Plan (ESMP) for student success, which includes all of the goals and objectives traditionally associated with educational master planning, technology planning, matriculation planning, equity planning, enrollment management and other forms of goal setting that have a direct impact on student learning and success.​


  1. Drafting, revising, and overseeing the implementation of the college’s Educational and Strategic Master Plan
  2. Developing annual college planning goals and objectives
  3. Overseeing subcommittees and implementation teams responsible for specific college-wide objectives in the ESMP and annual plans
  4. Communicating to the college community through direct biennial reports and through the committee structure on progress towards completion of ESMP goals, progress on improving student achievement and learning, and news about all additional student success efforts
  5. Oversee, evaluate and coordinate institutional planning processes (except for facilities planning) and its mechanisms for measuring college objectives and outcomes
  6. Serve as the Achieving the Dream Core Team​​

 Membership (by position/representation)



1 Academic Senate President or designee

1 AFT 1521 Chapter President or designee

1 Curriculum Chair (Vice President of the Academic Senate)

1 Chair of Chairs

1 EPPIC Chair

1 Staff Development Coordinator

1 SLO Coordinator

1 Achieving the Dream Faculty Co-chair

1 Work Environment Committee Chair

1 Faculty from Student Services (appointed by the Academic Senate)



1 Vice President of Academic Affairs or designee

1 Vice President of Student Services or designee

1 Vice President of Administrative Services or designee

1 Director of Facilities

1 Dean of CTE/Workforce

1 Dean of Institutional Effectiveness



1 Classified representative appointed by the AFT 1521A Chapter President


1 ASG President or designee


Accreditation Faculty Co-Chair

Dean of Institutional Advancement: Academic Quality, Student Success, and Support Services

Dean of Strategic Programs and Resource Development

Research Analyst


Designees must serve for the entire year. Alternates are non-voting.​



 Operating Procedures

  1. Meetings
    1. Meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month from 12:30-2:00 pm.
      Subcommittees, workgroups and taskforces meet on the fourth Wednesday and as needed.
    2. Meetings are open to the campus community
    3. Minutes are made available both electronically and as hard copies.
  2. Committee Co-Chairs: The administrator co-chair is appointed by the College President. The faculty co-chair is appointed by the Academic Senate President. Co-chairs that are not chosen from the designated membership of the committee are non-voting.
  3. Decision Making/Recommendations
    1. Whenever possible the committee makes its decisions by consensus.  If consensus is not reached, then decisions are made by majority vote.  As much as possible, decisions are made during the academic year to allow for adequate review by college constituencies. Recommendations are forwarded to the College Council for review and approval.
    2. The committee will review and validate the college planning processes and review and revise the college planning handbook as needed.  Changes to planning processes and the handbook arising from process validation require approval by the Academic Senate.
  4. Communications
    1. The committee makes regular reports to the Educational Policies and Program Integrity Committee (EPPIC), the Academic Senate and the College Council.
    2. Members of the committee are notified of meetings and provided the proposed agenda and meeting materials at least 72 hours in advance of the scheduled meeting date and time.
    3. The agenda and all meeting materials are posted online.​

 Subcommittees/Task forces/Workgroups

  1. Standing subcommittees may be created by majority vote of the Strategic Planning Committee. The SPC will define the purpose and responsibilities of its subcommittees.
  2. Task Forces and workgroups are ad hoc subcommittees and may be created by majority vote of the SPC.  Such bodies are assigned specific tasks to be completed by an agreed-upon deadline and are dissolved once the assigned task is completed.
  3. Members of standing subcommittees, task forces and workgroups need not be members of the SPC.  While the SPC will determine the membership composition by constituency, members are appointed by the appropriate constituencies.
  4. The standing subcommittees are:
    1. Committee on Pathways for Student Success (COMPASS)
    2. Staff and Organizational Development
    3. Technology Steering
    4. Enrollment Management T​eam

 Plan Linkages

  1. ACCJC Accreditation Standards IA.3, IA.4, IB, II.A.2.f, IIB, IIC, IIIA.5, IIIA.6, IIIB, IIIC, IIID.1, IIID.4, IVA.
  2. ​​​​The Strategic Planning Committee is directly involved in the execution of the Educational and trategic Master Plan, driven by the College mission and in alignment with the District Strategic Plan.​



Below is list of current College Plans. Click to access.




Copyright © 2013 Los Angeles City College All Rights Reserved
855 N. Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles CA 90029 - Phone: 323.953.4000 - Fax: 323.953.4013
Useful links:  LACC College Website  |  E-mail: Webmaster  |  |  LACC Portal